Still confined to base!

image

Now into day 3 of ‘house arrest’ so lots of thinking time. Admittedly my knee feels better and I can only assume that’s because I’ve been resting a lot more. My stump however is still sore and quite fragile. I’ve been asking myself the question who am I trying to impress? Dashing around ( not literally) saying yes to everything and even volunteering when I should say a polite no. However it’s hard to change the habit of a lifetime but I need to be stronger and firmer with myself if I am to heal properly and feel the benefits of a full knee replacement long-term.

Reading other peoples blogs is very helpful, particularly in the early post-op days because everyone’s initial recovery period follows a fairly similar pattern. It gets difficult when as individuals we start to pick up the pace of our pre-op life as this varies so much depending on age, level of fitness and whether or not you have any other physical needs or complications – this is where I fail miserably! I have tried my whole life, since losing my leg in an accident 40 years ago to lead as full a life as I can. I never considered myself as disabled even though it was quite obvious I was. Now I am older I am not able to do that because my needs are more. However I seem to forget that sometimes and end up right where I am now – confined to base!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment